New Adjustment to the Official Working Hours in Iraq

The Council of Ministers has granted approval for the starting and ending times of official working hours at the headquarters of ministries, their affiliated bodies, and non-affiliated entities for a trial period of three months following Ramadan. This decision will be subject to reassessment by the committee according to the General Secretariat of the Council of Ministers’ letter dated January 23, 2023. The details are outlined as follows:

1. Official working hours for government departments situated in the Green Zone and ministries such as Foreign Affairs, Planning, Agriculture, Water Resources, Environment, Immigration and Displacement, Communications, Youth and Sports, Culture, Industry and Minerals, alongside entities like the Central Bank of Iraq, Federal Financial Supervisory Authority, Baghdad Municipality, and Civil Aviation Authority shall commence at 7:00 AM and conclude at 2:00 PM.

2. The three presidencies, as well as ministries which include Interior, Defense, Health, Finance, Electricity, Justice, Labor and Social Affairs, the Ministry of Education, and all affiliated educational institutions will begin working at 8:00 AM and conclude at 3:00 PM.

3. Ministries such as Higher Education and Scientific Research, Transportation, Trade, Reconstruction, Housing, Municipalities, Public Works, Oil, in addition to Shiite and Sunni Endowment Diwans, Martyrs and Political Prisoners Institutions, Supreme Hajj and Umrah Council, Council of State, and other unspecified authorities, will start official working hours at 9:00 AM, ending at 4:00 PM.

4. All government and private universities and colleges will start operating at 10:00 AM, with flexibility provided for closing hours to adjust to variation in working hours throughout the week.

Back to top button